Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Bottle Conditioning Issue: Acetaldehyde and CBC-1  (Read 3102 times)

Offline jamesablum

• 1st Kit
Bottle Conditioning Issue: Acetaldehyde and CBC-1
« on: January 24, 2018, 11:46:40 am »
Over the last year I've been having a peculiar issue with acetaldehyde and bottle conditioning. After extensive research--both in my print library and online--I remain flummoxed. Perhaps, the community can help.

Here is a bit of background:

I have been homebrewing for about twelve years. I rely solely on force carbonation for many of my lagers and American-style brews, but for certain classic European styles (such as Belgian ales, mixed-fermentaiton beers, and German wheat beers) and big beers I like to bottle condition--to obtain very high carbonation levels for the former example and to help promote the longevity of the beer for the latter example.

In order to really dial in my carbonation, here is how I typically bottle condition. After fermentation, I will keg the beer, chill it, and carbonate it to 2 volumes. A couple of days before the beer has finished carbonating to that level, I will make an acclimation starter consisting of 50% DME-based wort (~1.035), 50% of the base beer, and two grams of rehydrated dry yeast. After approximately 24 hours, the acclimation starter will be chilled. When it is time to bottle, I decant the acclimation starter and add the yeast slurry along with an appropriate dosage of cane sugar (which has been dissolved in water, boiled, and chilled) to provide enough sucrose to reach my final target carbonation level (usually 3.25-4.25 volumes).