Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Biotransformation  (Read 2734 times)

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Biotransformation
« on: February 03, 2018, 09:41:06 am »
Anyone listen to the latest Basic Brewing podcast with John Palmer regarding New England IPA?

I've been hearing about hop biotransformation for a few years, and back then there was little to no scientific study to prove it. Lately I've been hearing it a lot from several noteworthy brewing gurus. But according to Palmer, who cited a professor at UofO, biotransformation has only been proven in a couple wine strains and a couple Bret strains. Palmer is saying biotransformation is not occurring in ale or lager strains.

I suppose it could be successfully argued that SOMETHING is different when comparing beers dry hopped post fermentation with those dry hopped during fermentation, but who knows exactly what that is right now?

After hearing so many use the term biotransformation lately, I was believing that there must have been a new study proving it. I tried it in a couple pale ales and found no change or at least unnoticeable change, and on one brew day I did one batch at day 3 (during) compared to one batch for the last 3 days (post), and the post fermentation had obviously more aroma, but the same basic flavors. Meaning no noticeable new biotransformation flavors.

I'm curious if someone has study info that Palmer missed, or if this is another case of jumping on the band wagon just to find there is no band...

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Biotransformation
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2018, 10:03:08 am »
What UofO?  University of Oregon?  Could it be OSU (OR State University) instead?
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com