Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New here, new to brewing  (Read 2507 times)

Offline gunslinger249

• 1st Kit
New here, new to brewing
« on: February 04, 2018, 12:57:54 am »
Probably should have done this before cooking up my first batch last night, but oh well. Got a beginners kit from Austin Homebrew Supply and have an amber (extract kit) fermenting right now, and a pale ale kit in the mail. Planning to do a secondary fermentation on it. Any suggestions or tips for the upcoming steps, or in general?

Sent from my SM-J510L using Tapatalk

"Back off, man. I'm a scientist."

Offline Slowbrew

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • The Slowly Losing IT Brewery in Urbandale, IA
Re: New here, new to brewing
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2018, 05:50:03 am »
Welcome the forum and to the hobby!

Many people have decided to leave the secondary fermentor in the box for most beers anymore.  A week or 2 longer in the primary will generally clar the beer and not transferring to the second vessel reduces the risk of oxygen.  You can do a secondary if you like.  I did many of them when I started out too. 

Just something to think about.

Paul
Where the heck are we going?  And what's with this hand basket?

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2018, 06:07:01 am »
Welcome. If you like to clean and sanitize, you too can brew beer.

My recommendation is to prioritize the bombardment of information to fit your desired goals. Only use the information you need at this point in your journey. Evaluate and decide for yourself if it’s right for your brewery.

The example is Slowbrew’s recommendation above: he gave good advice on secondary fermentation. You may choose to still use secondary fermentation ...that is your choice. Many do. But his advice gives a pretty good reason not to discovered by others who’ve gone before you.  Which is why many do not.

Cheers!