Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Jack the CrIPA  (Read 2018 times)

Offline IMperry9

• Assistant Brewer
Jack the CrIPA
« on: February 06, 2018, 07:05:55 pm »
Hey guys really back into the swing of things, doing only my second ever IPA! I have been brewing for three years and only recently decided to do the style again because this style is a weak area in my brewing knowledge. Anyway I can't wait to taste it and hear some feedback as well. (If you haven't noticed I am obsessed with rye in most my beers...). On a side note I don't we derived the name from it being a Citra Rye IPA aka CrIPA  ;D

-9lbs Briess 2-row
-2lbs Briess Rye Malt
-1lbs Weyermann Carabelge
 Hops Schedule:
.65oz Citra AA%:25.2 at 60 minutes
.35oz Citra AA%:25.2 at 10 minutes
1oz Citra AA%: 25.2 at 0 minutes

Used WLP008 East Coast Ale yeast because it is a favorite as well as Whirlfloc in the boil.

A fine beer may be judged with only one sip, but it's better to be thoroughly sure.
Kegged/Bottled: N/A
Coming up:
SMaSH Rye Pale Ale
Chocolate Rye Stout
Milk Stout

Offline Iliff Ave

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Jack the CrIPA
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2018, 08:46:26 pm »
Is the Citra lupulin powder, cryo hops or something @ 25.2% aa? I was going to suggest a lot more hops but don’t have any experience with that stuff.
On Tap/Bottled: IPL, Adjunct Vienna, Golden Stout, Honey Lager
Fermenting: IPA
Up Next: mexi lager, Germerican pale ale

Offline IMperry9

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2018, 09:49:11 am »
Is the Citra lupulin powder, cryo hops or something @ 25.2% aa? I was going to suggest a lot more hops but don’t have any experience with that stuff.

They are cryo-hops which I myself have no experience with. The supply shop I went to suggested them, I cant wait to see how it turns out. The IBU we calculated I believe was around ~70 (can't be exact I don't have my notes with me...)