Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: When to dry hop  (Read 4850 times)

Offline toxdoc49

• 1st Kit
When to dry hop
« on: January 08, 2018, 10:34:01 am »
I am new to home brewing. Have done some reading and some brewing of 1 gallon batches to get acquainted with techniques. I purchased another 1 gallon IPA brew in a bag kit from Brewer's Best.  I would like to dry hop with Azacca as an experiment. If I understand correctly, I go through the normal extract brewing process using the hops provided (chinook, cascade). Then at what point is it best to add hops for dry hopping? Or am I saying this wrong?  Thanks for any advice.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: When to dry hop
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2018, 10:41:05 am »
You have options.  People who like styles like NEIPA like the effects of biotransformation they get from dry hopping during primary fermentatiuon.  Others (I'm one of them) don't care for that effect and like dry hopping after primary fermentation dies down.  You can leave the beer in the fermenter and dry hop there, or you can do what I do and xfer the beer to a serving keg and dry hop in the keg.  As you can see, there is no one right way and each method produces different effects.  I advise you to pick one, tru it, and see what you think.  You can always try another method on another batch.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline Joe Sr.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Chicago - NORTH SIDE
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2018, 08:31:59 pm »