Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Easy Irish Guinness beer clone?  (Read 10473 times)

Offline barleybear

• 1st Kit
    • Barley Bear's Homebrew Blog
Easy Irish Guinness beer clone?
« on: January 01, 2010, 08:44:20 pm »
Hello all

I have been brewing beer for a few months and I want to try to do something special for my wife.  She has told me for years about her trip to Ireland and how great the Guinness beer is there.  My wife does not even like most beer and thinks that the import Guinness taste's too bitter and too thick and the head is not creamy enough.  I have never had the pleasure of a trip to Ireland but I would love to make the beer she remembers,   I am not quite up to doing an all grain brew yet but I would love to here if anyone knows a good recipe using extract and steeping grains that can make a beer close to what my wife remembers.  I have found one or two recipes that say they will make this beer but there is nothing like hearing form folks that have made and tasted the beer. Thank you all for any advice you can give.

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
Re: Easy Irish Guinness beer clone?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2010, 08:39:32 am »
Irish stout is an easy recipe. Basically it is just 70% pale malt, 20% flaked barley and 10% roasted barley with about 30-50 IBUs of a bittering addition only. The problem will be two fold: One, you will need to do a mini-mash with the Flaked Barley (might not be much of a problem, pretty easy to mash a couple pound of grain) and , two, you are not going to be able to serve the Stout "properly" without either a beer engine or a nitrous, Co2 mix (beer gas) with Stout Faucet. This  gives the beer its creamy, long lasting head and it will be hard to achieve this with bottle conditioning or with a simple keg set-up.