Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Kwak and Chouffe troubleshooting  (Read 1175 times)

Offline MYR

• Cellarman
Kwak and Chouffe troubleshooting
« on: March 03, 2018, 10:20:23 am »
Hello all,
so I have been attempting a Kwak and Chouffe Clone by following and slightly modifying recipes I found on Beersmith but I'm not satisfied with the results.
Both are way too dark, the Kwak as a special flavor to it, which is hard to describe (I'm not too good at describing flavor, I need to learn more on that), and the Chouffe almost taste like honey to me.
Also the Chouffe does not have a good head retention.
Both these beers did not have a big Krausen during fermentation, which may be part of the problem.
I want to attach a few pictures, of the recipes I followed as well as of the final results.
I'm not able to find how to attach an image though, when I click insert image it just insert [img]... How does this work? Sorry for the noob question.
Any help and suggestions are welcomed, thanks and cheers!

Offline skyler

• Brewmaster
  • Hmm. Human music. I like it.
Re: Kwak and Chouffe troubleshooting
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2018, 10:11:48 pm »
Hello all,
so I have been attempting a Kwak and Chouffe Clone by following and slightly modifying recipes I found on Beersmith but I'm not satisfied with the results.
Both are way too dark, the Kwak as a special flavor to it, which is hard to describe (I'm not too good at describing flavor, I need to learn more on that), and the Chouffe almost taste like honey to me.
Also the Chouffe does not have a good head retention.
Both these beers did not have a big Krausen during fermentation, which may be part of the problem.
I want to attach a few pictures, of the recipes I followed as well as of the final results.
I'm not able to find how to attach an image though, when I click insert image it just insert [img]... How does this work? Sorry for the noob question.