Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brown Ale recipe  (Read 2063 times)

Offline Dogs.N.Beer

• 1st Kit
Brown Ale recipe
« on: March 05, 2018, 01:49:28 am »
Hey you all,  pretty new to home brewing.  But I'm trying to create my own recipe for a brown ale and need some feed back on what I threw together.  Any criticism, changes and suggestions are greatly appreciated and wanted. Here's what I put together:

.25lbs chocolate malt
.25lbs Belgian Special B
.25lbs Belgian Biscuit
.25lbs Briess Special Roast

6lbs Muntons Plain Dark DME

1oz Centennial for bittering
2oz Willamette for Aroma
 Wyeast 1332 NW Ale

I was also entertaining the idea of dry hopping but not sure what hops or if I should just not do it. Again,  this is my first attempt at creating my own recipe.  Just want to know if it's totally wack or if I'm heading in the right direction.  I'll take any and all advice!
« Last Edit: March 05, 2018, 11:43:42 am by Dogs.N.Beer »

Offline Adam

• Cellarman
    • High Altitude Home Brew Supply
Re: Brown Ale recipe
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2018, 10:28:35 am »
When creating recipes using DME/LME, there is a common recommendation to use only pilsen extract or light extract rather than use amber extract or dark extract. 

Dark DME typically contains crystal malts and chocolate malts in a blend that may (or may not) be stated.  Pilsen and light extracts are generally just 100% base malt (check the manufacturers web site to confirm this).   Muntons provides information here http://www.muntonshomebrew.com/category/canned-malt-extracts/ and Briess here http://www.brewingwithbriess.com/Products/Extracts.htm.

For the American Brown Ales that I brew, it's typically two-row malt (or light DME), a blend of C60/C80/chocolate (season to taste) and maybe some black malt (just enough to 'dial in' the color), Magnum/warrior hops for bitterness, Cascade/Centennial hops for flavor/aroma, & US-05