Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Poll

Why is my fermentation/yeast not working?

Fermentation
1 (100%)
Yeast
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 1

Author Topic: Fermentation  (Read 1560 times)

Offline sdlonyerdj

• 1st Kit
Fermentation
« on: March 06, 2018, 10:40:44 am »
I brewed a 5 gallon batch of Weekday Bock this weekend from a recipe in the Jan/Feb Zymurgy issue. The only variations I did was no zinc fortified yeast @ 10 minutes. I chilled the wort to 65 degrees and pitched the yeast which is a bit low on temp however my fermenter is showing about 70 degrees now having been in for about 48 hours. I noticed a bit of activity after 24 hours but none since. Am I just being impatient or is there something in the fortified yeast process that is hampering the process? I've never used that before and I didn't see anything in based on my experience inn the mix that would not provide lots of food for the yeasties. I also aerated the wort for 30 minutes prior to pitching. Maybe because I brewed on the weekend instead of a 'weekday'?  :-[
Appreciate any guidance and comments. Thanks -

Offline EnkAMania

• Brewer
Re: Fermentation
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2018, 11:00:32 am »
Take a hydrometer sample, only way to know what is going on.  Since it's only day 2 or 3, I would wait till the one week mark to take the sample.
Some day we'll look back on this and it will all seem funny

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2018, 02:23:41 pm »
First off:65 is in no way too low. In fact for a bock, if you used lager yeast, you should have pitched/fermented in the low 50s, not mid 60s.

2nd: You say you raised to 70 which is actually way too warm for any Bock lager, and even if you are using ale yeast this is still probably too warm. You will likely get a  lot of fermentation off flavors.