Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Oven-baked wings that taste like they were fried  (Read 2317 times)

Offline Bklmt2000

• Cellarman
Oven-baked wings that taste like they were fried
« on: February 23, 2018, 12:33:40 pm »
I've posted about this project in other forums I belong to, so I figured, why not here too?  :)

Something I've been working on for several months is, to try to make chicken wings in the oven, that taste like they've been fried. My goal was to develop another method to make fried-like wings in the oven on days when either it's not feasible to grill (raining, too cold, etc.), or deploying a deep-fryer indoors isn't feasible.

Serious Eats had an article a while back about using baking powder + salt to dry-brine the wings overnight in the fridge, resulting in a crispy skin.

I've found that air-drying the wings in the fridge, overnight (for at least 12 hours, and preferably, for 24) on a stainless cooling rack in a rimmed baking sheet, minus the BP/salt, can provide nearly the same crispiness as the baking powder/salt method.

This can work well for folks who love wings but are trying to watch their sodium intake.

I cook my wings for 1 hour @ 400°F (sometimes a little longer, depending on wing done-ness/crispiness). I also employ various spice rubs (pre-cook) and sauces (post-cook), depending on the flavor I'm after.

An early batch that went onto the grill instead of into the oven:

One of the first batches that went into the oven:

A pic of my latest work (these were also oven-baked):

I think my wing obsession is likely incurable, but IMO there are worse ways to go.  ;D

Offline dls5492

• Brewer
Re: Oven-baked wings that taste like they were fried
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2018, 12:50:08 pm »
Very nice.
In the winter time, I like to do them the “Alton Brown” way in the oven. They come out nice with crispy skin. He puts them in a steamer for a few minutes before they go into the fridge.