Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: ok to store kegs with Starsan?  (Read 2280 times)

Offline ferb

• 1st Kit
ok to store kegs with Starsan?
« on: August 07, 2010, 12:05:01 pm »
I'm relatively new to kegging and my first two Cornies are empty. 8^(
I cleaned the kegs, lines and faucets with PBW first and then flushed them with Starsan.

My question is, I ran all of the Starsan through the faucets until they were foaming and spitting. Is it ok to leave it like this for an extended period? I probably won't be able to brew for a little while so they'll sit empty. Any harm to leave this acidic solution on the keg's rubber gaskets and the faucet's inner workings?

-Brett

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
Re: ok to store kegs with Starsan?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2010, 12:48:50 pm »
Ummm... I think it's OK. Residual foam isn't anything to worry about. If it worries you upend the keg(s) for a few minutes with the lid off to drain. It's what I do and never had a problem.

Starsan breaks down pretty quickly and easily AFAIK.
The first principle is that you must not fool yourself, and you are the easiest person to fool. -Richard P. Feynman

Laws are spider-webs, which catch the little flies, but cannot hold the big ones. -Anacharsis

Offline alemental

• Cellarman
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2010, 01:09:15 pm »
I recently listend to the 2 Brew Strong podcasts (Cleaning & Sanitizing) that had a representative from 5 Star speaking. He wouldn't commit to an actual length of time that it is OK to store Starsan in a keg, but said that he had done so for 6 months with no issues, & that being acidic, was probably safer for the metal than storing water. I personally do it every time with my kegs.
By the way, Starsan made with RO or distilled water will last nearly indefinably.

Offline wingnut

• Brewer
  • Plainwell MI
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2010, 03:03:25 pm »