Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First time using liquid yeast/making a starter  (Read 1267 times)

Offline Hoppist

• 1st Kit
First time using liquid yeast/making a starter
« on: March 30, 2018, 06:38:38 am »
About to do my second brew, a NEIPA. For this one I got the classic Wyeast London A3 1318 and I am planning to do a starter. The yeast has January 25 date on it, so I guest it should be about 55% viable. This is my first time working with liquid yeast and I want to build a starter. I don't have a stir plate, but I plan to use a blender on the lowest setting. It has a non-stepped speed controller, so I can run it on a very low speed, lower than "1" in most blenders, thus I think that if I succeed sanitizing it, then I should be fine. What pitch rate do you think I should go for, considering I am most likely going to build a 20L (5gal) 1.06 wort for it to ferment? I would like a slight underpitch to create some more intense fruity ester profile. My starter will be (unless someone proposed something better) 1L with 100g extra light DME. Should I leave it in the starter for 2 days, or will 1 suffice?

Offline Robert

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: First time using liquid yeast/making a starter
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2018, 07:12:43 am »
A stir plate is not necessary, and a blender is a bad idea: even if you can sanitize it, you will literally chop your yeast cells to bits.  Even stir plates damage yeast by shearing. 

All you need is a gallon jug.  Put a liter/quart of 1.040 dme wort in it, add your liquid yeast.   Seal it up with a stopper or cap and shake it until the jug is full of foam; this will adequately oxygenate the wort.  Remove the stopper and loosely cover the opening with a piece of sanitized foil (keeps stuff from falling in but allows oxygen ingress and CO2 to escape.)