Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: How cold should ipa be fermenting????  (Read 1583 times)

Offline Highimkody

• 1st Kit
How cold should ipa be fermenting????
« on: April 17, 2018, 04:38:10 pm »
Hey everyone! I’m new to home brewing and have a few questions ! I am brewing a chinook ipa and it has been fermenting for a week now and I opened it up to dry hop and it smelled a bit sour ? My temp is at 60 degrees, and just wondering if my batch is ruined or what?! Little nervous! Is that to cold or am I okay and should just wait it out? Also my airlock bubbles were really slow and basically at a stop.

Offline twiggy2164

• 1st Kit
Re: How cold should ipa be fermenting????
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2018, 04:39:39 pm »
Depends on the yeast, 60 should be fine for almost any ale yeast.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Slowbrew

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • The Slowly Losing IT Brewery in Urbandale, IA
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2018, 04:50:49 pm »
+1 60F should be fine.

The sour smell is most like just really young beer.  All kinds of things get cleaned up in weeks 2-3 or later.  That's why everyone preaches patience.

Paul
Where the heck are we going?  And what's with this hand basket?

Offline trubgerg

• 1st Kit
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2018, 06:13:31 pm »
When I brew during winter, most of my beers are around 60 by the time I bottle them.  Typically it's about 3 weeks in the fermenter and the beer always comes out fine and fully fermented. 
Greg Burt - Candidate for AHA Governing Committee 2020

~Homebrewer Since 2010~
~AHA Member Since 2015~

Homebrew Timer - an app for iOS devices

Offline ethinson

• Brewmaster
  • Why is the beer always gone?
    • River Pirate Brewing Co.
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2018, 02:47:20 pm »