Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: All grain small batch  (Read 1384 times)

Offline scorpion

• 1st Kit
All grain small batch
« on: April 16, 2018, 10:37:00 pm »
Hi All,

I am new to home brewing, I have brewed couple 5 gallon batches (using extract kit). I don't have much outside/open space, which makes brewing or cleaning the equipment hard. So I was thinking about brewing small batches, for which I can do it in my kitchen. I was also thinking to try all-grain brewing. So, I would like to know if we can brew all grain small batch brewing(like 1 - 2 gallon)? Can we buy these small batch all grain ingredient kits anywhere or do we have to gather them individually?

Sorry, if something is incorrect and thank you in advance.

Scorpion
« Last Edit: April 16, 2018, 10:42:55 pm by scorpion »

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
Re: All grain small batch
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2018, 05:04:17 am »
I converted a cooler to a 1-2 gallon MT once. Used an instant how water heater for hot water. Boiled on my stove and fermented in 1 gallon jugs. Super easy and fun. Nice not to have to lug 5 gallon batches around and not needing heavy equipment. I'll send pics of the MT I build ASAP

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
All grain small batch
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2018, 05:43:56 pm »
I think you’d have to buy the ingredients separately. Why not use a sous vide heat stick and do mashes in a bag on the stove top in a stock pot?  If I were a one to two gal brewer this would be my set up.

https://youtu.be/cQCmDv-5JUk

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: April 17, 2018, 05:51:07 pm by BrewBama »

Offline tommymorris

« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2018, 06:51:44 pm »
Northern Brewer
Morebeer
Adventures in HomeBrewing
Brooklyn Brew Shop