Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Belgian wit "orange peel stand"  (Read 1566 times)

Offline rbowers

• Assistant Brewer
Belgian wit "orange peel stand"
« on: May 02, 2018, 04:25:05 pm »
Brewing up a wit tomorrow.  Did the same recipe last year which includes additions of fresh citrus peel around 5 min left in boil.  Would it be better to consider doing a hop stand like rest around 180-190 for a period of time after the boil and add them then to extract citrus flavors with hope of retaining more aromatics and flavor in the finished beer.  Was very pleased with results last year, just always looking to try new things.

Offline joe_meadmaker

• Brewer
Re: Belgian wit "orange peel stand"
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2018, 07:16:07 pm »
I love the idea of adding citrus peel to the boiling pot.  I'll have to try that sometime.

A little over a year ago a did several variations of a heather ale.  Before I started brewing with heather tips, I ran some experiments making tea with them.  I tested several variations with the amount of heather, and also the temperature of the water.  I found that boiling water was a little overkill and ended up steeping in the same general range you mention, 170-180 degrees.  Not sure if citrus peel will act the same way.

With your brew coming up I don't know if you'll have the time (or extra oranges), but at some point you could try steeping some peel in water at different temperature levels and see if you get different flavor results.  This technique worked well for me.

Happy brewing tomorrow!

Online dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2018, 07:39:15 pm »