Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New Brewer - why do you homebrew  (Read 2116 times)

Offline J965

• 1st Kit
New Brewer - why do you homebrew
« on: May 06, 2018, 09:11:25 pm »
Hi there, I'm pretty new to brewing and was wondering what got you interested in brewing in the first place?

Offline J965

• 1st Kit
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2018, 10:46:10 pm »
Personally I got into it through my friends and colleagues but I’m interested to hear from others on their experiences starting to homebrew

Offline James K

• Brewer
  • Flagstaff, AZ
Re: New Brewer - why do you homebrew
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2018, 02:07:40 am »
I first got into homebrewing over 10 years ago. I had disposable income and was 21. I drank everything in the store and just wanted to try my own. I did not know the difference between extract or all grain then. I would read about mashing and scratch my head because I was just boiling cans of malt.

Over the years I just sought out craft beer and things that were different. I got back into brewing after a long hiatus because It seemed like a fun hobby and something that was practical. More somafter I learned more. But I am still learning.

I brew for a club and also to experiment. It is hard for me to find commercial beers where I am like, yeah, I want that. With most my home brews I feel like I pretty pretty decent beer. Most my friends agree and encourage me to make things they like. Belgian golden strong is on the list. My friend said duuvel. I said. I’ll figure it out.
Vice President of Flagstaff Mountain-Top Mashers
2017 Homebrewer of the year
"One mouth doesn't taste the beer."

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2018, 04:58:11 am »