Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Dunkelweiss Thin Ideas to Improve in keg?  (Read 1745 times)

Offline Honyok

• 1st Kit
Dunkelweiss Thin Ideas to Improve in keg?
« on: June 19, 2018, 11:06:14 am »
Been brewing for 1 year, today, and so I tasted my first attempt at a dunkelweiss.  From a kit. It came out good, but tastes thin.  Final alc. was only about 4%.  It sat in primary for 2 weeks & secondary for 2 weeks.  Kegged for 2 weeks.  Any suggestion for improving the taste at this point (and also in the future)? Can I place something in the keg to help?  Thanks.

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Dunkelweiss Thin Ideas to Improve in keg?
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2018, 11:16:15 am »
I am by no means an expert but I believe your grain bill, mash temp, the yeast you select, and more all contribute to ‘mouth feel’. For example oats contribute a smoothness, higher mash temps encourage less Beta Amylase conversation and thereby less fermentability, and yeast that attenuate less can contribute to a higher viscous beer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Honyok

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2018, 12:01:22 pm »
Thank you.  I did everything "by the book" but I suspected the yeast from the beginning.  Used a dry, packaged yeast that came with the kit.  I suppose I should be using liquid yeast for better results.

Offline BrewBama

Dunkelweiss Thin Ideas to Improve in keg?
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2018, 02:53:39 pm »
Thank you.  I did everything "by the book" but I suspected the yeast from the beginning.  Used a dry, packaged yeast that came with the kit.  I suppose I should be using liquid yeast for better results.

I disagree. I use dry yeast exclusively and do not suffer from thin beer.  What yeast did you use?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: June 20, 2018, 02:55:57 pm by BrewBama »

Offline Honyok

• 1st Kit