Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: QD to faucet assembly - how well does it work? (Picture)  (Read 2157 times)

Offline syncopadence

• Assistant Brewer
QD to faucet assembly - how well does it work? (Picture)
« on: July 08, 2018, 11:06:10 am »
Anyone have any experience with these? My main concern is that they'll pour foamy. I'm going to keep the kegs cold, carbonation level around 2.5, and serving pressure low. But I have no experience with these so I'm looking for opinions. Just need something for a party.

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk

Offline tommymorris

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: QD to faucet assembly - how well does it work? (Picture)
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2018, 11:21:42 am »
Those need to have the gas pressure turned down to reduce foam. 

I have a similar setup but use a flow control faucet. It works great. No foam at 10-12 psi (I haven’t tried to find a maximum.)

To use a flow control faucet you need a special QD to faucet adapter that is bored out to leave room for the flow control mechanism to move freely.

Here is a thread where I discussed my setup.

https://www.homebrewersassociation.org/forum/index.php?topic=25689.0

- formerly alestateyall.

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
QD to faucet assembly - how well does it work? (Picture)
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2018, 11:46:01 am »
I also use the QD and Perlick flow control faucets at 12 psi. I enjoy the results and not having to clean lines.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Offline James K

• Brewer
  • Flagstaff, AZ
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2018, 02:34:21 pm »

https://www.homebrewersassociation.org/forum/index.php?topic=25689.0
^ Legit

I personally would probably not go that route. Sorry for not having experience with that exact product but you can buy a plastic beer faucet for $4 and add a foot of tubing (or more) to increase accessibility when pouring.