Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: SS Brewbucket Infected?  (Read 1719 times)

Offline monkeymullins

• 1st Kit
SS Brewbucket Infected?
« on: July 10, 2018, 12:32:13 pm »
Hi guys I have a brewmaster bucket first two brews were fine however the previous two using this FV have had a TCP/Medicinal taste.

Now it’s not my water or sanitation as I used my other FV and this one came out fine.

Any ideas or help will be greatly appreciated

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: SS Brewbucket Infected?
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2018, 12:39:49 pm »
have you taken apart the spigot?  It doesn't really disassemble much but some funky stuff could get between the dip tube and valve, nut and fermenter wall, or valve and hose barb maybe.  Just spitballing here.

edit: I also remember either reading or hearing Jamil say to boil ball valves halfway open to catch the cavity on either side of the ball.  I imagine soaking in your choice of cleaner sanitizer would do as well.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2018, 12:50:13 pm by BrewBama »

Offline monkeymullins

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2018, 12:44:17 pm »
Yeah I tried that on the last clean. Wondering if it could be the silicone seal on the lid but that’s also soaked in VWP (PBW alternative) and had a starsan soak also. I’m completely out of ideas on this TCP/Medical taste

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline JT

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Bloatarian Brewing League - Cincinnati, OH
    • Bloatarian Brewing League
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2018, 06:22:43 pm »
Fill that SOB with boiling water.  Let it sit sealed up for 15 minutes then drain it through the ball valve.

Offline MNWayne

• Brewer
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2018, 07:48:58 am »