Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: GFCI and Heat Sink questions for Electric Brewing reserch  (Read 1379 times)

Offline edward

• Cellarman
GFCI and Heat Sink questions for Electric Brewing reserch
« on: August 08, 2018, 02:01:23 pm »

I've been researching going Electric for a few months and I've purchased about 1/4 of the components.

I'm looking to build a unit with a max load of 50 Amps, using 2 PIDs (HLT and BK) and 2 Heating Elements.

Two potentially dumb questions of what will be many....

A somewhat unconventional question about GFCI....Is it possible to mount a GFCI breaker inside the control panel, just after where the main power comes in but before the main power switch?  I know I could get a  SPA panel or a 50amp GFCI in the house primary panel....but this question is more on the theoretical side.

Instead of heat sinks on the SSRs is it possible to run cooling fans across them as an alternative?

Thanks
Ed

Offline KellerBrauer

• Brewmaster
  • Bottoms Up!
Re: GFCI and Heat Sink questions for Electric Brewing reserch
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2018, 06:52:56 am »
Greetings edward - a GFCI breaker, in the conventional sense, needs to be mounted to a buss bar.  So in that regard, no, you cannot mount a GFCI after the incoming power supply.  SCRs (silicon controlled rectifiers) do require a heat sink to dissipate heat.  They may also require the use of a fan depending on the load and some other ambient temperature factors.