Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Repitching yeast on Odell Wheat recipe  (Read 1071 times)

Offline Jeff804

• 1st Kit
Repitching yeast on Odell Wheat recipe
« on: August 23, 2018, 01:01:57 pm »
I am a rookie brewer and I think my yeast was either expired or fell out of the acceptable temperature range.  From what I have read it looks like i can repitch the yeast within 7 days of brewing.  I am using dry yeast SafBrew WB-06.  Any insight as to the best way to approach this?  I am aware of rehydrating the yeast but wasn't sure if that is needed and/or acceptable given that I will be repitching.  Many thanks in advance!

Offline Iliff Ave

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Repitching yeast on Odell Wheat recipe
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2018, 02:19:10 pm »
Can't comment too much about your plan but I'm not sure that yeast would be the best choice for Easy Street.

EDIT- Have you taken a hydrometer reading? If it didn't ferment well you could always throw another packet of yeast in.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2018, 07:56:21 pm by goschman »
On Tap/Bottled: IPL, Adjunct Vienna, Golden Stout, Honey Lager
Fermenting: IPA
Up Next: mexi lager, Germerican pale ale

Offline jeffy

• Tampa, Fl
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2018, 02:23:06 pm »
Are you saying that you pitched a packet of dry yeast and didn't see any activity?  You may have missed it.  Why don't you take a hydrometer reading and see if anything happened before you add more.
Jeff Gladish, Tampa (989.3, 175.1 Apparent Rennarian)
Homebrewing since 1990
AHA member since 1991, now a lifetime member
BJCP judge since 1995

Offline Jeff804

• 1st Kit
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2018, 08:05:16 am »