Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Changing water profile  (Read 1061 times)

Offline Ed17447

• 1st Kit
Changing water profile
« on: August 28, 2018, 07:14:38 am »
Hi everyone

I finally have more time to pick back up the hobby. I started brewing in 92 and brewed for about 10 years, then life got in the way ( work ) and was traveling too much to brew. I’ve now settled down and have been researching getting back into this. All I can say is WOW, technology in this hobby has changed.

So my question is what do the brewers use to test their water supply with water that’s well or spring because it’s always changing. I live in the mountains of Western NC and my water supply is tapped into a spring in the mountain. It’s great water but changes frequently. When I lived in a metro area it was easy to get a report and the profile never changed a lot. I also used test strips back in the day which really wasn’t that accurate but did an ok job. I thought about using ward labs to get a good base report but if my water supply profile changes often, I would think it would be a waste of money. So should I go ahead and order a report from ward labs to get a good base or just use testing strips every time I brew a batch? I’ll be using Bru n Water and I’m currently playing around with BeerSmith3.

I’m excited about getting back into this, buying new equipment and all. Sure is a lot more equipment out there than there used to be and will be fun shopping around. But anyway thanks for the help and I’m sure I’ll have more questions in the future.

Offline mchrispen

• Brewmaster
    • Accidentalis Brewing Blog
Re: Changing water profile
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2018, 08:08:04 am »
A Wards Lab report is a great place to start. Personally, I think you have a few options to consider: