Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Pilsner Enzymes for a Bread Ale  (Read 2664 times)

Offline Shanidze

• 1st Kit
Pilsner Enzymes for a Bread Ale
« on: August 29, 2018, 03:38:54 am »
Hello,

I'm new to brewing and I would like to seek your tips regarding an experimental recipe.

I live in a place where ready to use ingredients like malt and hops aren't easily available.

I've made beer with self-made malted barley and I've been somewhere close to the desired taste of an ancient style ale. I mostly followed the Kellerbier recipe, modified.

Now I want to brew something very new and yet something very ancient - bread ale.

The aim is to get the smokey taste from a special eart-wood oven type of bread that is popular around here. When prepared on beech or hornbeam wood, this oven gives the bread a sublime taste.

Some people here do this, with addition of sugar to the bread-broth, but I obviously want to do better than this, so I malted some barley again and I ordered amylase enzymes from a German store.

The enzyme powder says "Pilsner Enzymes" and doesn't give a full list of which amylase and pectinase enzymes it contains, and to what proportion.

My question to you guys is - does anyone have any experience with Pilser Enzymes? Will it help me break down the starch from the bread?

Also - if anyone has made some bread ale here - what would be the best way to chop it? I'm wary that if I crumble it down to too small fractions, they'll escape from the brewing bag.

Since this is an old-world ale, I ordered German hops, Perle, it's said to be good for bittering and for the aroma.
Since I don't want this beer to taste hoppy, but just to have sufficient hops to balance the sweetness, I think of adding 15 grams of Perle to 20 litres of wort for bittering; I haven't figured out how little I should add for the aroma, for the result to have a very dominant bread&malt taste.

Any suggestions are very welcome and appreciated.