Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Switching to wine  (Read 1765 times)

Offline bierview

• Assistant Brewer
Switching to wine
« on: September 11, 2018, 07:07:55 am »
I have been brewing beer for 17 years and would like to get into wine making.  I know very little about it and was wondering if anyone had information to get me started. 

Can I use some of the equipment I already have?  What specialty equipment would I need to purchase.

Looking forward to hearing back and thanks in advance.

BV

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
Re: Switching to wine
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2018, 09:56:51 am »
There should be plenty of online tutorials. If you have a LHBS ask them, many have well stocked wine sections.

I made some years back. It is a different process than beer. Much of the same equipment is used.
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
Home-brewing, not just a hobby, it is a lifestyle!

Offline BrewArk

• Brewmaster
  • Rick - Newark, California
    • BrewArk
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2018, 10:01:39 am »
it's easier to make.  Much easier to make substandard.
Beer...Now there's a temporary solution!

Na ZdravĂ­

Offline joe_meadmaker

• Brewer
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2018, 11:17:34 am »
+1 on the post that mentions much of the same equipment is used.  I use all the same gear (buckets, carboys, siphons, etc.) for brewing and mead making.  Off hand I can't think of anything I use specifically for just one, except my boiling pot/mash tun because I don't boil my mead.

There's plenty of recipes and videos online.  Just run a couple searches and find something that looks interesting to you.  There are differences from the brewing process, but because you know how to use your equipment, it's not difficult to adjust.  You can also start with a kit if you're concerned about having to put everything together for a first batch.