Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: HERMS Upgrade  (Read 1412 times)

Offline Brewtopalonian

• Assistant Brewer
HERMS Upgrade
« on: June 21, 2018, 07:54:33 pm »
Hi all,

I am wanting to upgrade to a HERMS in the near future.  I've done some research but I want to hear what you guys have to say.  Where would you start with your purchases?  What would you do differently if you did it over again?  Should I just go for the 10 gallon system right off the bat? What controller should I get?  I have some experience with Arduino coding and I own an Arduino Romeo board... Can I use that somehow?

Just putting my feelers out there to get an idea of how I should go.  For reference I currently have a 5 gallon system of SS Brewtech MT and BK.  I have a chugger pump and a diedra plate chiller.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Keep It Simple, Stupid!

Offline David

• Assistant Brewer
Re: HERMS Upgrade
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2018, 04:46:12 pm »
I am also wanting to upgrade to a HERMS system. I looked into using the Arduino, looks to me like it would work very well, but I decided against that route (not familiar with the coding, yet). I decided to go with a design based on http://www.theelectricbrewery.com/, using three converted kegs (I figured it would be best to allow for 10 gallon batches, can always brew smaller). Made some minor modifications to their design, and have started purchasing components.I still have a long way to go, but it is coming.
“Whether you think you can, or you think you can't--you're right.” -- Henry Ford

Offline Brewtopalonian

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2018, 08:51:13 am »