Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: I scorched my grain bag :(  (Read 3266 times)

Offline robdogj

• 1st Kit
  • enjoying my hobby as a zymurgist
I scorched my grain bag :(
« on: October 22, 2018, 03:03:02 pm »
I never realized that I never posted on this board so here is my first post - I have been coming here tips & advice all of the time - I have been doing the BIAB method for about 3 years now & homebrewing for about 12 years - this was the first time I scorched my bag for the first time  - now I am considering purchasing a 5 gallon water cooler to use as a mash tun - one positive I got an OG of 1.086 & I was trying to get a 1.067 ;)

Offline Bob357

• Brewmaster
  • Consensus means nothing to me. I am who I am.
Re: I scorched my grain bag :(
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2018, 05:02:59 pm »
Here's how you keep from scorching you bag:

https://www.brewhardware.com/category_s/1826.htm
Beer is my bucket list,

Bob357
Fallon, NV

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
I scorched my grain bag 😞
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2018, 05:41:47 pm »
I agree you need something to keep it off the bottom. While I certainly don’t want to take a sale away from Bobby, there are other (cheaper) options as well. 

https://www.amazon.com/Cooling-Racks-Round-Baking-Tools-Accessories/s?ie=UTF8&page=1&rh=n%3A289721%2Cp_n_feature_keywords_browse-bin%3A2847614011

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: October 22, 2018, 05:43:30 pm by BrewBama »

Offline TeeDubb

• Assistant Brewer
  • San Jose, CA
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2018, 11:32:16 pm »
Just a caution that some of the plated ones on Amazon can rust over time at the joints.  Mine did after about 7-8 brew sessions.  Will be upgrading to a stainless spacer soon! Worth the extra expense from my perspective and the height adjustment is a nice feature.

Offline Steve L

• Brewmaster
  • Rocky Mount, VA