Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brewing with Rye  (Read 1910 times)

Offline jrector

• 1st Kit
Brewing with Rye
« on: December 26, 2018, 08:58:59 am »
I did a Rye IPA recipe the other day. I'm still a newbie (Just under a year brewing) and this was my first try at grain bill with Rye. The Rye was about 21% of the bill. I use a Brewer's Edge Mash & Boil electric system. The issue was, at about 15 minutes left in the boil the unit shut off with an E4 error. A safety error to keep the element from overheating. I couldn't clear it. I probably should have just tossed in the rest of the hops and called it a day but I transferred to my stainless pot and used a propane burner to finish the boil.

Both the M&B and the stainless pot were scorched. I'd never had that happen before and have several brews under my belt with the M&B. My thought is it had something to do with the Rye. Am I correct in my thinking? If so what are some things I can do to prevent this? I've heard the suggestion of a step mash. Is that reasonable?

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
Re: Brewing with Rye
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2018, 09:00:50 am »
I don't see why rye would have anything to do with scorching, unless you poured rye malt syrup into boiling wort with the heat still on.
Dave

The world will become a much more pleasant place to live when each and every one of us realizes that we are all idiots.

Offline jrector

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2018, 09:04:01 am »
I don't see why rye would have anything to do with scorching, unless you poured rye malt syrup into boiling wort with the heat still on.

No syrup but I've heard Rye is "gummier" or more syrupy. Never had a scorched bottom until this brew.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew