Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New to Homebrew: Headspace issue?  (Read 1821 times)

Offline Chris W

• 1st Kit
  • Beer Lobbyist
    • Untappd
New to Homebrew: Headspace issue?
« on: March 06, 2019, 08:43:19 am »
I'm very new to home brewing and on Sunday I started a English Brown Ale. The recipe was pre-made by my local brew shop. It was brewed in a 1 gallon carboy and the wort/boil seemed to go well...the siphoning went ehh. I checked on the fermentation last night and it appears I had a blow out. carboy cap blown off and foam on the ground. Is this a case of not enough headspace? If so, is there a case of too much headspace if I would have used the 5 gallon carboy? Thanks in advance. I can add pics later if necessary.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: New to Homebrew: Headspace issue?
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2019, 08:50:40 am »
I'm very new to home brewing and on Sunday I started a English Brown Ale. The recipe was pre-made by my local brew shop. It was brewed in a 1 gallon carboy and the wort/boil seemed to go well...the siphoning went ehh. I checked on the fermentation last night and it appears I had a blow out. carboy cap blown off and foam on the ground. Is this a case of not enough headspace? If so, is there a case of too much headspace if I would have used the 5 gallon carboy? Thanks in advance. I can add pics later if necessary.

You've pretty much nailed it... your fermenter is too small.  You'll be fine with a 5 gal. fermenter
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline ynotbrusum