Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Upgrading from extract to all grain. NEED some setup pointers!  (Read 2552 times)

Offline PBnKjelly

• 1st Kit
Upgrading from extract to all grain. NEED some setup pointers!
« on: January 28, 2019, 06:48:44 pm »
Hello all. I'm relatively new to brewing, I've brewed a couple of extract kits after my wife bought me a extract 5 gallon starter kit from Midwest 2 years ago. I took a break for a while but am looking to jump back into brewing with both feet but would love to switch to all grain. My main concern while I'm building a setup is that I don't want to start off with some parts that I would have to upgrade sooner rather then later when I go to really fine tune everything and want to build more off of. Basically I want to start off with a very strong building block of an all grain system. One of my first questions is when it comes to purchasing a mash tun and hot liquor tank to go along with the boil kettle, does it make more sense to go right for say 15 gallon stainless or do the plastic cooler set ups work just fine? I know there is a significant difference in price and I don't mind taking my time to save up and build it right the first time so I only have to do it once. Any helpful advice is greatly appreciated. Cheers!

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Upgrading from extract to all grain. NEED some setup pointers!
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2019, 08:12:42 pm »
Here are some links to AHA How to Brew. Run thru them to see if they help. https://www.homebrewersassociation.org/category/tutorials/

Edit:  if I were getting into all grain today I’d probably look very hard at one of the all-in-one brewing machines on the market. They sell under names like Braümeister, Grainfather, Mash and Boil, Robobrew, etc. I would look into someone selling one second hand.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk