Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Hefeweizen Extract kit problems  (Read 1956 times)

Offline Daniel Cheramie

• 1st Kit
Hefeweizen Extract kit problems
« on: December 24, 2018, 11:54:03 am »
I am new to the home brewing scene and tried my first go at it with a Hefeweizen Extract kit from my local brewing supply store. First off it seem to go very well or at least I thought. Fermentation seem to last about 3 days and I left it in the primary for 14 days...transferred to my bottling bucket and added priming sugar...bottled and let sit for another 10 days...tried it out and found that the carbonation was on point but I found that it was really dark for that style and had somewhat of a metallic after taste. Now i did use an aluminum brew kettle that was brand new and I didnt know I had to season it. I pitched my yeast at around 78 degrees and also my ABV was 3.9% which is lower than the instructions said (4.7 to 5.6). Any ideas where I went wrong and what I can do different?

Thanks

Online BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Hefeweizen Extract kit problems
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2018, 01:18:13 pm »
“Metallic flavors are usually caused by unprotected metals dissolving into the wort but can also be caused by the hydrolysis of lipids in poorly stored malts. Iron and aluminum can cause metallic flavors leaching into the wort during the boil.” John Palmer, How to Brew

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Robert

« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2018, 01:51:01 pm »