Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: RO water questions  (Read 1674 times)

Offline Fzabinski

• 1st Kit
RO water questions
« on: March 01, 2019, 06:43:33 am »
Hey guys I just purchased an ro water system that i plan on using in my brewery and storing water in 55gal plastic drum. I am new to RO and have heard it can be corrosive and have a few questions:

1. Is untreated RO water safe to heat up in stainless steel boil kettle?
2. Is untreated RO water safe to use in blichmann therminator?
3. When using water calculator do I just enter 0 for all inputs with starting water.
4. Any other precautions to take regarding stainless brewing equipment, hoses, salts, etc.

Thanks everyone!

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Offline Mike-Ale

• Cellarman
Re: RO water questions
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2019, 06:47:08 am »
I have Spike kettles and emailed them about the corrosiveness of RO water. I told them the water may sit in my kettles for us to 36 hours. They told me they do the same and have had no problems. RO is more corrosive but I think you would need exposure to metal for quite some time. No expert here so TIFWIW.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Fzabinski

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2019, 07:04:43 am »
Thanks mike

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2019, 07:08:30 am »
I haven't had issues. You should be good with 304 Stainless.

From a Google search.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/utopia.de/ratgeber/richtig-lagern-und-optimale-kuehlschranktemperatur/amp/
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
Home-brewing, not just a hobby, it is a lifestyle!

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2019, 07:20:19 am »
I haven't had issues. You should be good with 304 Stainless.

From a Google search.