Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: GABF 2019  (Read 1324 times)

Offline hike20

• Cellarman
GABF 2019
« on: June 28, 2019, 10:07:32 am »
GABF has been on my wish list for a while now but just haven't been able to make it. Well this year I'm definitely going as one of my beers was selected to be entered in the ProAm competition (entry already submitted so fingers crossed we make it into the comp). Of course I'm very excited by the opportunity! But I have no experience with this fest so am looking for some insiders tips from experienced attendees. Are there better sessions to be at? Members only seems like it would be an obvious choice. I probably won't be able to attend every session. Any outside events that I should try not to miss? I plan to arrive Wednesday evening and fly back Sunday morning. I especially would like to hear from any previous ProAm folks. Anyone been to the Paired events?

Offline EnkAMania

• Brewer
Re: GABF 2019
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2019, 10:15:46 am »
I go to opening night and members day.  Opening night, more of the brewers are around, so you can talk to them about their beer.
Some day we'll look back on this and it will all seem funny

Offline MDixon

• Brewmaster General
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2019, 06:26:53 pm »
Also at opening the beers will still be flowing.
It's not a popularity contest, it's beer!

Offline reverseapachemaster

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
    • Brain Sparging on Brewing
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2019, 10:06:39 am »
I've only been to Friday and the Members Only on Saturday. Members Only is the best because lines are lighter but you will see very few of the brewers around especially once the award ceremony begins. In one session you can hit a lot of beer if you get in line early and do not focus on tackling the most hyped beers. There are always a lot of great beer with little to no line.