Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Once upon a time, a homebrewer was bored  (Read 2988 times)

Offline Connor Williams

• 1st Kit
Once upon a time, a homebrewer was bored
« on: July 17, 2019, 10:57:24 am »
Once upon a time, a homebrewer was bored and was tired of the cases and cases of beer.

LHBS owner suggested the next step up from bottling should be kegging! So the homebrewer gave that a try. The homebrewer only had a 1 tap kegerator which sufficed for all of about 2 weeks before the next keg was ready to be carbed and served. He went to google and searched "Big kegerator" and discovered the world of keezers. After a Saturday of youtube videos, a Sunday of ordering a freezer, a week of waiting, a weekend of Home Depot and LHBS trips, powertools, assembly and cleaning, his own keezer was born!

This is why engineers should always have something to do! I'm a software engineer but still, I have a "buildy" mind and always love building things. This fun (aka expensive) project has been the highlight of my homebrewing passion and I love every bit of it! This makes serving my beer WAY easier and I will possibly eventually save money on bottling my beers. Between the 10 valve co2 distributor, an excess gas/liquid tubing and a mounted co2 tank, this system makes the carbing, cold crashing, chilling carbonating and serving aspects of homebrewing a breeze!

As mentioned I am a software engineer. These tap handles are currently just some of the ones that I have collected over the months of going to breweries and finding handles in their gift shop. However, they don't indicate what's on tap! I am throwing together a way to go even more overboard with a way to tell people what's on tap without needing to tell every person all 10 taps every time or have to ruin the look of this keezer with sticky notes labeling what is on each tap every time I have a party.