Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: How do you get your water??  (Read 10612 times)

Offline Chris C

• 1st Kit
How do you get your water??
« on: August 20, 2019, 01:14:10 pm »
I'm pretty new to brewing, and in the past have just bought whatever cheap gallon jugs of spring water I can get, but that's still expensive.

The tap water supply is great, but probably needs some filtering.  I'm considering just getting a filter for my kitchen sink, but it currently has one of these installed: https://www.amazon.com/Commercial-Pull-Out-Sprayer-Preparation-Stainless/dp/B07GTRSV6R/ref=sr_1_17?gclid=CjwKCAjwtO7qBRBQEiwAl5WC22aVxgwA8dykF1wP-2Jz245BKZZYpF04XiauqFosqlchgynRrMgc8BoCmCIQAvD_BwE&hvadid=177804071908&hvdev=c&hvlocphy=9033254&hvnetw=g&hvpos=1t2&hvqmt=b&hvrand=12701620924286559184&hvtargid=aud-676677759524%3Akwd-5779643239&hydadcr=1889_9900420&keywords=pull+out+sprayer+kitchen+faucet&qid=1566328316&s=gateway&sr=8-17

Will this be able to hold up a filter?  What filter do you use?  What other options do I have??  I need to cut this $5-$8 off each batch I make!

Offline Megary

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: How do you get your water??
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2019, 01:41:30 pm »
I wouldn't try adding a filter to the end of that pull-out spray.  The clunkiness of doing so aside, if the faucet is relatively new, the aerator might not even be adaptable to a filter.  You could always add a filter under the sink, but that would require you to add a dedicated filter faucet and another hole in the sink/countertop.  Otherwise you would be using nice, clean filtered water to wash your dishes.

Offline jjw5015

• Cellarman
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2019, 01:48:21 pm »
5 Gallon refills of RO water at Walmart are only $1.85 for me in PA

Offline coolman26

• Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2019, 02:15:58 pm »