Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Pumpkin beer  (Read 1937 times)

Offline jtmillir

• 1st Kit
Pumpkin beer
« on: September 05, 2019, 08:13:11 pm »
I am brewing the morebeer thanksgiving (pumpkin) beer this weekend.  this is my first time with a pumpkin beerI am going to get pumpkin spice to add and pumpkin to add.  When do you guys add it and how much do you add?

Offline EnkAMania

• Brewer
Re: Pumpkin beer
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2019, 10:33:31 am »
I do a tsp of spice near the end of the boil and another tsp at kegging.
Some day we'll look back on this and it will all seem funny

Offline goose

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2019, 01:22:00 pm »
I know a lot of people use actual pumpkins and basically stew them a bit before adding the meat to the wort.  I found it was easier to use pumpkin puree instead of whole pumpkins.  It is a lot easier to work with.  If you are doing an all grain batch (if that is what the kit is), you can put he puree directly into the mash.  Just make sure you use rice hulls if you go that way to keep from sticking the mash.
Goose Steingass
Wooster, OH
Society of Akron Area Zymurgists (SAAZ)
Wayne County Brew Club
Mansfield Brew Club
BJCP Certified

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2019, 01:58:51 pm »
If you insist on using pumpkin, Drew has a good trick.  Put the canned pumpkin in a pan and bake it for a few hours to concentrate the flavor.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline reverseapachemaster