Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: High FG! Add another yeast pack?  (Read 820 times)

Offline gudjonhrafn

• 1st Kit
High FG! Add another yeast pack?
« on: December 29, 2019, 05:30:40 am »
Hello

I just started brewing again after a long time away and I made a few mistakes during the first batch.. First I added a 700 gr of Lactose straight after the boil instead of after the fermantation..

Which may affected my FG..

After 10 days of fermenting i took a reading before adding raspberry and vanilla to the batch. My FG was 1.032, should be around 1.010. My OG was 1.057..
I´m fermenting in a fermentation chamber at 19°C / 66.2°F

What I'm wondering can I add another yeast to the batch to get the gravity down? and can i add it though I already put the raspberrys and vanilla in?

will it do any good?
thanks
Gudjon Hrafn
« Last Edit: December 29, 2019, 03:19:37 pm by gudjonhrafn »

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
Re: High FG! Add another yeast pack?
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2019, 05:49:23 am »
You added an awful lot of lactose, more than I would ever use or recommend.  Adding more yeast will not do anything helpful at this point.  Just give it sufficient time to complete the fermentation.  I think it may lose a few more gravity points, but if it's done then pack it up and try to enjoy.
Dave

The world will become a much more pleasant place to live when each and every one of us realizes that we are all idiots.

Offline KellerBrauer

• Brewmaster
  • Bottoms Up!
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2019, 06:29:29 am »