Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brewing outdoor in cold weather?  (Read 8372 times)

Offline Scott Tankersley

• 1st Kit
Brewing outdoor in cold weather?
« on: November 30, 2019, 11:24:43 am »
I'm fairly new to extract homebrewing. Can I brew beer outdoors in cold weather and have good wort?
Scott Tankersley

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
Re: Brewing outdoor in cold weather?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2019, 11:49:31 am »
I'm fairly new to extract homebrewing. Can I brew beer outdoors in cold weather and have good wort?

Yes you can.

Wind can be a problem with gas burners, so a windshield can help keep the heat going to the kettle.
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
Home-brewing, not just a hobby, it is a lifestyle!

Offline mabrungard

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Water matters!
    • Bru'n Water
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2019, 11:50:50 am »
As long as it’s not too cold for you, it will probably be fine to brew outside in cold weather.
Martin B
Carmel, IN

BJCP National
Foam Blowers of Indiana (FBI)

Brewing Water Information at:
https://www.brunwater.com/

Like Bru'n Water on Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/Brun-Water-464551136933908/?ref=bookmarks

Offline baltocharlie

• 1st Kit
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2019, 01:10:16 pm »
One thing to keep in mind is freezing hoses for chilling your beer.  I keep my chiller and hoses inside until it is time to use them. Also make sure your outside faucet is not frozen and water turned on.  I have brewed in temps in the upper teens, it wasn't pleasant. I find mid 20's and above is good if there is no wind.  75F is preferred though:)

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2019, 01:37:51 pm »