Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Up grade in brewing equipment and recipes  (Read 1052 times)

Offline tbrecks23@

• 1st Kit
Up grade in brewing equipment and recipes
« on: December 20, 2019, 05:07:51 pm »
Hello,
I have been brewing for about 2-3 months now. I get a lot of my equipment and ingredients from Northern Brewer.com.

My question is when do I start thinking of up grading my equipment and start learning how to make beer recipes etc?

I enjoy doing this and I love sharing the beer to my family and friends.

Thanks,

Offline oginme

• Assistant Brewer
    • My Farm
Re: Up grade in brewing equipment and recipes
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2019, 06:12:34 pm »
When ever you feel ready to!  Some people never go beyond buying kits and enjoy brewing just fine.  Others plunge in with both feet and end up with near nano breweries in their homes.  The level you want to go is up to you and how far you want to go with it.  The speed at which you get there is based upon your confidence and desire to get there.

Welcome to the obsession!

Offline Kevin

• Brewmaster
  • Great beer. Less work. More fun.
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2019, 06:51:39 pm »
The book Mastering Homebrewing by Randy Mosher contains my favorite methods for learning how to design recipes. There is a lot more to it than just throwing together some malt, hops and yeast in water. There is a whole world of grains to become familiar with not to mention adjuncts. Then an equally dizzying array of hops and then yeast. All have their own characteristics. Some work together well and some don't. I found Randy's book a solid resource for making sense of it all.
“He was a wise man who invented beer.”
- Plato

Offline KellerBrauer

• Brewmaster
  • Bottoms Up!
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2019, 06:58:27 am »
Hello,

My question is when do I start thinking of up grading my equipment and start learning how to make beer recipes etc?

Thanks,