Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Using Yeast Slurry?... Now I'm concerned about Lag Time!?  (Read 1619 times)

Offline OhDannyBoy!

• Cellarman
Using Yeast Slurry?... Now I'm concerned about Lag Time!?
« on: December 13, 2019, 07:08:53 am »
So, it's my first time using slurry...

Mr Malty's Repitching from Slurry Calculator (default settings) said for a 10 litre batch @ 1.054 OG I required 76ml @ 60% Viability (been in the fermenter for 4 weeks at time of harvesting, so estimated harvest date at 3 weeks ago).

Now I'm concerned about Lag Time, so far it's been 18 hours with little sign of air lock (bubbles) activity. It's in a white plastic bucket so I can't really see what's going on inside?

Any feedback, suggestions or calming words folks?

Cheers! Dan :o

« Last Edit: December 13, 2019, 08:03:25 am by OhDannyBoy! »

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Using Yeast Slurry?... Now I'm concerned about Lag Time!?
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2019, 08:09:19 am »
18 hours is a moment in terms of lag time.  Relax.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline Bob357

• Brewmaster
  • Consensus means nothing to me. I am who I am.
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2019, 08:32:00 am »
Airlock activity is a poor indicator of fermentation, especially when using a bucket. Bucket lids are notorious for not sealing well. Also, as Denny stated, 18 hours lag time isn't a problem. Give it another day and then try shining a strong flashlight or lamp from the back side of the bucket and look for a shadowy area above the liquid level.