Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Fermentation time for a New England IPA  (Read 8622 times)

Offline Timothy Latimer

• 1st Kit
Fermentation time for a New England IPA
« on: January 08, 2020, 12:22:07 pm »
This is my first attempt at all grain brewing and was wondering if anyone knows approximately how long the fermentation process should last?

Offline Slowbrew

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • The Slowly Losing IT Brewery in Urbandale, IA
Re: Fermentation time for a New England IPA
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2020, 12:37:06 pm »
Ales typically take 3-7 days to complete primary fermentation.  That's a very loose "rule" though.  If you can post the recipe and you Original Gravity reading the folk son here can probably make a better guess.

My stance is usually "it's done when it's done".  Brewing taught me patience (at least a little).  ;D

Paul
Where the heck are we going?  And what's with this hand basket?

Offline Bob357

• Brewmaster
  • Consensus means nothing to me. I am who I am.
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2020, 01:45:21 pm »
I agree. Yeasts works on their own schedules. How long it takes for a fermentation to finish is influenced by many factors, The biggest influences are pitching rate, yeast health, available O2 at pitching, wort composition, yeast strain and fermentation temperature.
Beer is my bucket list,

Bob357
Fallon, NV

Offline jeffy

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Tampa, Fl
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2020, 02:46:16 pm »
It's safest to wait about two weeks for the fermentation to finish in most ales at "room" temperature, but it is always good to check the specific gravity of the beer over a few days to confirm that the reading stays the same.  The bulk of the fermentation will be done in a few days, but the beer likes it if you give it some extra time.
Jeff Gladish, Tampa (989.3, 175.1 Apparent Rennarian)
Homebrewing since 1990