Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: BRY 97  (Read 5262 times)

Offline samaral

• 1st Kit
BRY 97
« on: January 21, 2020, 02:44:25 pm »
Thinking about using this yeast in a Black IPA. I've never used it before. Anyone have experience with this yeast?

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
Re: BRY 97
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2020, 03:13:30 pm »
It's good, and it's very laggy.  Expect a good 2-3 days after pitching before it really begins to take off.  From that point it works normally and performs well.  It has similar results to US-05 with slightly lower attenuation.
Dave

The world will become a much more pleasant place to live when each and every one of us realizes that we are all idiots.

Offline BrewBama

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2020, 03:50:27 pm »
I have also experienced the same lag time with Bry 97. Otherwise, I’ve had good results.

However, if I remember correctly, Robert propagated it up (aka made a starter) and he reported less lag time.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Robert

« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2020, 04:13:39 pm »
I have also experienced the same lag time with Bry 97. Otherwise, I’ve had good results.

However, if I remember correctly, Robert propagated it up (aka made a starter) and he reported less lag time.

Yes.  I'd nearly forgotten that, but I found my records from that batch.  It seems the first time I checked on it was 6 hours after pitching and it was already active.  Got 80% AA in 5 days. 
Rob Stein
Akron, Ohio

I'd rather have questions I can't answer than answers I can't question.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2020, 04:32:57 pm »
For some reason, I've never noticed anything other than a normal lag.  Guess I'll pay more attention next time.