Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Souring ciders and wines  (Read 2638 times)

Offline bmytys

• 1st Kit
Souring ciders and wines
« on: August 24, 2010, 06:27:35 pm »
I was wondering if anyone has had experience using brett to sour ciders or wines?  I've been souring beers for a couple years now and have a true love for a nice tart ale.  I've recently started dabbling in ciders and wines.  I think I've read somewhere that some wines do carry a small amount of brett character, but I know for the most part it is avoided like the plague.  If anyone has info on past experiences, I'd appreciate it.  Also, which strains of brett should be used?

Cheers,

bmytys
Fighing Brewers
Grand Rapids, MI

Offline kylekohlmorgen

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Saint Louis, MO
    • The South House Pilot Brewery
Re: Souring ciders and wines
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2010, 07:59:14 am »
To try the souring affect, you could always taste-test with a bit of lactic acid - then scale-up if you're impatient :)

The great thing about wine/cider is that its so much easier to make test batches. Pull of a gallon of your batch to a gallon jug and add your house bugs and some oak cubes (optional, of course).
Twitter/Instagram: @southhousebrew

Recipes, Brett/Bacteria Experiments: http://SouthHouseBeer.com/

Offline alikocho

• Brewmaster
  • Bristol, UK
    • A Storm Brewing
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2010, 08:34:44 am »
I've never added Brett to my cider, but then I use the wild yeast and don't sterilize my juice straight from the press so who knows what I get in there. Wild fermentation without control over cultures, but my terroir is pretty good given that I live in the midst of ciderland, UK (South-West England). My results are good - 2 ciders in the second round of the NHC this year, one of which (my English Cider) advanced to the BOS round and scored 45.