Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: WLP590 French Saison Yeast - 94%+ Attenuation  (Read 1828 times)

Offline Carson B

• Cellarman
WLP590 French Saison Yeast - 94%+ Attenuation
« on: February 07, 2020, 09:04:31 am »
I just brewed my first saison and used WLP590. I mashed at 150 for 90 minutes and have fermented at 74 degrees for 10 days. Attenuation is currently at a whopping 94%.

Smells great, tastes great, but the attenuation really threw me off and upped the alcohol past what I was after. Has anyone else had this happen with WLP590 or saison yeast in general? As stated, this is my first time using it so it's new to me. I'm trying to get a feel for if this is something I should anticipate for future batches.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2020, 10:48:04 am by Carson B »

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: WLP590 French Saison Yeast - 94%+ Attenuation
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2020, 09:46:35 am »
Because it is Saccharomyces cerevisiae var. diastaticus it has “the ability to utilize some dextrins (unfermentable sugars), resulting in higher levels of attenuation than what is considered typical.” — White Labs

Just curious: did you have simple sugars in your recipe? They say the key to a Saison is that it’s very dry. I understand to get there simple sugars are added. If this is too much for you, possibly you could reduce simple sugar additions in v2 (if used).

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Offline spurviance

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2020, 09:53:02 am »
I just brewed my first saison and used WLP590. I mashed at 150 for 90 minutes and have fermented at 74 degrees for 10 days. Attenuation is currently at a whopping 94%.