Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Using 5 gal keg for secondary and dry hopping  (Read 2910 times)

Offline Mjogg11

• 1st Kit
Using 5 gal keg for secondary and dry hopping
« on: February 16, 2020, 06:03:09 pm »
I apologize if this has been posted somewhere else in the forum.  I’m new to the Homebrewers Association and tried to search. 

My question is whether anyone uses a corny keg for secondary fermentation and dry hopping?  I have an Zombie Dust clone in a 7 gallon stainless steel fermenter.  My goal is to minimize oxygen exposure on the transfer to secondary and was wondering if anyone ever transfers from the fermenter directly into the keg to avoid oxygen.  My guess was that I would have to sanitize the keg and fill with some amount of CO2 to remove the oxygen and then push the beer into the keg through the “beer out” fitting. 

Is this possible or recommended?  I generally dry-hop in a carboy but don’t want the oxygen in the headspace and also don’t want to water down the beer to reduce the head space.  I have a little over 5 gallons of wort and a 6 gallon carboy.

Thank you in advance!

Offline charlie

• Assistant Brewer
Re: Using 5 gal keg for secondary and dry hopping
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2020, 06:23:38 pm »
I don't think the 5 gal corny is going to be good for dry hopping. If you use pellet hops they're going to fall to the bottom and block the outlet dip tube, and you'll have to rack the finished beer out with your racking cane. If you use leaf hops I don't feel that swirling that small a diameter vessel is going to adequately mix them up. Either way I think it's going to be more trouble than it's worth.

Charlie
Yes officer, I know that I smell like beer. I'm not drinking it, I'm wearing it!

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2020, 07:34:25 pm »