Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Cold Break Rest  (Read 1837 times)

TXFlyGuy

Cold Break Rest
« on: March 03, 2020, 01:13:39 pm »
Read that a cold break rest of 2 hours is recommended to avoid chill haze.
I have never done this before...how about you?

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Cold Break Rest
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2020, 01:15:31 pm »
Nope, never heard of it or done it.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline ynotbrusum

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2020, 02:00:02 pm »
Nope, me neither - would it be done under a CO2 environment or open to O2 pickup?  I think getting the yeast working right away would be preferred over a further extended time for settling of the cold break and trub.  But, some folks will do that and then rack off the clear wort, so maybe that it what is intended?
Hodge Garage Brewing: "Brew with a glad heart!"

TXFlyGuy

« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2020, 07:33:46 pm »
Found it here on the BYO website, https://byo.com/article/conquer-chill-haze/

Offline Richard

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2020, 10:12:45 pm »
I didn't see a date on that article, but it also recommended a hard boil for an hour which is no longer considered necessary or desirable. It looked to me as if it was an old article, but with no date it is hard to be sure.
Original Gravity - that would be Newton's

TXFlyGuy

« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2020, 04:47:54 am »