Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Any advantage to my method for saving yeast?  (Read 1124 times)

Offline Alfredbrewer

• Cellarman
Any advantage to my method for saving yeast?
« on: March 03, 2020, 03:40:42 pm »
I'm new to the liquid yeast world. So far, so good though. I'm just wondering if my method has any advantage over getting the slurry from a fermentor. I make an approximately 1800 ml starter and save around 300 ml from the starter and store it in a Mason jar. Next time I use the yeast I dump most of the Mason jar that's sitting on the settled cake and swirl it around to stir up the yeast and then dump it into my flask and off to the stir plate it goes. 5 gallon batches. My initial thought was that would be the purest version of the yeast, but am I overthinking it since it's new territory?

Offline Bob357

• Brewmaster
  • Consensus means nothing to me. I am who I am.
Re: Any advantage to my method for saving yeast?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2020, 04:29:39 pm »
If you mean you're harvesting yeast from a starter and using it to make another starter, many brewers have been doing that for several years. It works well. Can't remember exactly when, but I was first made aware of this method in a post by Marshall Schott, I believe prior to Brulosophy, and used it for several years.
Beer is my bucket list,

Bob357
Fallon, NV

Offline Alfredbrewer

• Cellarman
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2020, 04:37:33 pm »
Thanks for the reply. Going to be kegging the batch from the first re pitch soon. I know I am not reinventing the wheel at all, it's just new to me. Didn't really know if this was really a better way or just a different way. It seems easy enough, so that is what I've been doing for the last 5 or 6 batches with 4 different strains.

Offline Bob357

• Brewmaster
  • Consensus means nothing to me. I am who I am.
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2020, 09:08:41 pm »