Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Off Flavor Question - Burnt Rubber  (Read 4741 times)

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Off Flavor Question - Burnt Rubber
« Reply #15 on: March 18, 2020, 11:45:37 am »
Thanks for all the insight everyone.  I've already tossed the bucket and my second Flex+ arrived today as I don't want to chance it happening again.  The only way I can think to describe the odor and taste is burning tires.  I've read that it is tied to autolysis, but I can't imagine that would happen within 10 days, but then again I am pretty new to all this stuff.  There was no pellicle on top of the beer when I transferred.  The thing that is most odd to me is that I noticed the off smell in my brewing area after only about two days of fermentation, so to me that would mean that the autolysis would have happened within the first two days?  The "infected" bucket also took longer to have air lock activity than the stainless fermenter, I know that isn't necessarily a sign of fermentation activity, but it is something I noted in my notes.

Definitely seems too soon for autolysis and autolysis seldom happens at a homebrew level.  And autolysis aroma is better described as "meaty"
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline Jeremy Mann

• 1st Kit
« Reply #16 on: March 18, 2020, 11:48:25 am »