Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New Home, New Brewery - Advice on transition from Old to New  (Read 1808 times)

Offline Chaps

• 1st Kit
Hey all,

I'm sure this has been asked before on this forum,,but I moved into a new place and have a sweet spot in the basement to create a home brewery from scratch...I have been brewing for over 20+ years using my Gott cooler and ceramic pots and turkey burner....now thinking of a new brewery with new equipment...with so many different choices, how can you choose a decent, reliable system?  I am open to ideas that are reasonable in price and will make my brew day easy and fun...thinking about a 10 gal RIMS system...

Thanks in advance!!!
Curt - Batavia IL

Offline Richard

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: New Home, New Brewery - Advice on transition from Old to New
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2020, 10:05:49 am »
Go electric!
Original Gravity - that would be Newton's

Offline ynotbrusum

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2020, 04:08:00 pm »
Electric for sure.

Frankly, if you are going with 10 gallon batches, I would consider a 240 volt all in one system, like the bigger Grainfather, the Brewzilla or one of the new component built systems like SS Brewtech or Spike Brewing or similar.  Add a game hoist for pulling up the grain basket and you are pretty well set.

I have the Anvil Foundry for 5 gallon batches and really like it on 240V...my larger set up is a 9 gallon HERMS liquor tank with immersion coil (3500W element), 20 gallon InfuSSion Mash Tun, with an 18 gallon Stout Tank (all in one using only the main kettle anymore).  I use 400 micron Brew Bags for all of my brewing to eliminate grain pushing through on recirculation.

Hodge Garage Brewing: "Brew with a glad heart!"

Offline Visor

• Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2020, 09:32:22 am »