Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Off-Flavors in an Irish Red?  (Read 1059 times)

Offline Steve Musgrave

• 1st Kit
Off-Flavors in an Irish Red?
« on: June 20, 2020, 10:27:08 am »
Hello all! My brother and I brewed an Irish Red Ale and it seems to have possible off-flavors. That said, we've only brewed 7 all-grain batches so we're absolute newbies when it comes to this stuff.

The beer seems to have a molasses flavor and a smoky aroma. We aren't sure if it's from the grains, from something we screwed up or if it's just a young beer and we're being paranoid.

Here's what we used:

GRAINS & INGREDIENTS
8lbs. Maris Otter
2lbs. Vienna Malt
1lb. Yellow Corn (flaked)
4oz. Roasted Barley
1.2oz. Caraaroma

1.25oz. East Kent Goldings (60 min.)

MASH
148 for 60 min.
Up to 168 for 20 min.
168 for 10 min. (Mash out)

YEAST
Denny's Favorite (1000 ml yeast starter)

Primary: 68 (14 days)
Secondary: 68 (7 days)
Carb: 2.4 co2-vol / 5.4 oz. Corn Sugar (5 days in bottle as of now)

OG: 1.048
FG: 1.010
ABV: 4.99%

It came out darker than expected but we didn't have any brewing mishaps. Any idea where these flavors might be coming from?

Thanks in advance!

Offline santoch

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Riverview, FL
Re: Off-Flavors in an Irish Red?
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2020, 11:51:46 am »
I think 1/4 lb of Roasted Barley is a bit heavy handed in this batch and probably would contribute the smoky note and too-dark color.
Roast malt in an Irish Red like this one goes a really long way.  I'd suggest cutting it back to only 2 oz if you want to try it again.

Molasses flavor could be a number of things.  Did you actually measure the FG or was that what the recipe targeted?
Molasses indicates sweet under-attenuated beer to me, but if its at 1.010, I'm not sure, other than the roast barley again overstating itself.
Looking for a club near my new house
BJCP GM3/Mead Judge

Offline ynotbrusum