Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: 2 questions about racking onto yeast cake  (Read 900 times)

Offline Jefferson Coastal

• Cellarman
2 questions about racking onto yeast cake
« on: July 14, 2020, 02:41:35 pm »
I have never done this before, however considering.   Brewed a Marzen and will be racking it off to a secondary.   The beer is being fermented in a 5 gallon glass carboy.   My next beer will be a Doppelbock

- Would it be best to siphon off as much beer (& trub) as possible, and then rack the fresh new wort on top the existing yeast cake (& any residual)

- After siphoning how long could I safely keep the yeast cake as is, before adding the new wort?   Eg 3 days, 5 days more?

Thanks for the advice.

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
Re: 2 questions about racking onto yeast cake
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2020, 03:40:27 pm »
The beer is protective for the yeast. When I do this I rack the old beer off right before racking the new beer on the cake. If I can't do it the same day, I usually transfer the yeast to a few mason jars (with a small amount of the beer) and keep them in the fridge until I can use them.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

Eric B.

Finally got around to starting a homebrewing blog: The Hop Whisperer

Offline Kevin

• Brewmaster
  • Great beer. Less work. More fun.
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2020, 08:51:54 am »
When I do this I plan my brews so that brew #2 is ready to go on the yeast the very same day that brew #1 is being kegged. If there is going to be any delay of a day or more I collect the yeast cake in a quart mason jar and store it in the refrigerator. I have kept jars for three or more weeks like this before using with no problems.
“He was a wise man who invented beer.”
- Plato

Offline tommymorris

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2020, 09:19:35 am »